• Follow the Money

    By LILIAN CALLES BARGER

    Review of The Market as God, by Harvey Cox

    December 05, 2016
  • The Trouble with Incentives

    By DIMITRIOS HALIKIAS

    Review of The Moral Economy: Why Good Incentives Are no Substitute for Good Citizens, by Samuel Bowles

    November 21, 2016
  • The Federal Reserve’s Big Bang and the Challenge of Institutional History

    By PETER CONTI-BROWN

    Review of America’s Bank: The Epic Struggle to Create the Federal Reserve, by Roger Lowenstein

    October 10, 2016
  • Bringing the Basic Income Back to Earth

    By DANIEL HEMEL

    Review of Raising the Floor: How a Universal Basic Income Can Renew Our Economy and Rebuild the American Dream, by Andy Stern with Lee Kravitz, and In Our Hands: A Plan to Replace the Welfare State (Revised and Updated Edition), by Charles Murray

    September 19, 2016
  • There Goes the Neighborhood

    By DARIA ROITHMAYR

    Review of Saving the Neighborhood: Racially Restrictive Covenants, Law, and Social Norms, by Richard Brooks and Carol Rose

    June 08, 2016
  • Taxation as Compensation

    By DANIEL HEMEL

    Review of Taxing the Rich: A History of Fiscal Fairness in the United States and Europe, by Kenneth Scheve and David Stasavage

    May 25, 2016
  • Is French Islam an Oxymoron?

    By AZIZ Z. HUQ

    Review of Why Muslim Integration Fails in Christian-Heritage Societies, by Claire L. Adida, David D. Laitin, and Marie-Anne Valfort

    March 28, 2016
  • What’s the Matter with Luxembourg?

    By DANIEL HEMEL

    Review of The Hidden Wealth of Nations: The Scourge of Tax Havens, by Gabriel Zucman

    January 13, 2016
  • Literary Financial Literacy

    By WILLIAM A. BIRDTHISTLE

    Review of I.O.U.: Why Everyone Owes Everyone And No One Can Pay; Capital: A Novel; and How to Speak Money: What the Money People Say -- and What It Really Means, by John Lanchester

    January 06, 2016
  • The Struggle for America’s “Fiscal Soul”

    By JULIA D. MAHONEY

    Review of WE ARE BETTER THAN THIS: How Government Should Spend Our Money, by Edward D. Kleinbard, and GOING FOR BROKE: Deficits, Debt, and the Entitlement Crisis, by Michael D. Tanner

    January 04, 2016
  • Misreading Walter Bagehot: What Lombard Street Really Means for Central Banking

    By PETER CONTI-BROWN

    Review of Lombard Street: A Description of the Money Market, by Walter Bagehot

    December 14, 2015
  • Crash Course

    By KATHRYN JUDGE

    Review of The Courage to Act: A Memoir of Crisis and its Aftermath, by Ben Bernanke

    November 16, 2015
  • Finance By and For the People

    By PETER CONTI-BROWN

    Review of Smart Money: How High-Stakes Financial Innovation is Reshaping Our World—For the Better, by Andrew Palmer

    October 21, 2015
  • A Phool and His Money

    By ALEX TABARROK

    Review of PHISHING FOR PHOOLS: The Economics of Manipulation and Deception, by George A. Akerlof and Robert Shiller

    September 23, 2015
    Alex Tabarrok review of PHISHING FOR PHOOLS book
  • Rifts in Rationality

    By JAMES D. MILLER

    Review of RATIONALITY: From AI to Zombies, by Eliezer Yudkowsky

    August 12, 2015
    "Rifts in Rationality," by James D. Miller, review of RATIONALITY: From AI to Zombies, by Eliezer Yudkowsky
  • The Mischievous Science of Richard Thaler

    By CASS R. SUNSTEIN

    Review of MISBEHAVING: The Making of Behavioral Economics, by Richard H. Thaler

    June 08, 2015
    CASS R. SUNSTEIN review of MISBEHAVING: The Making of Behavioral Economics Hardcover, by Richard H. Thaler
  • The Possible Dream

    By JENNIFER NOU

    Review of SOCIAL CHOICE AND LEGITIMACY: The Possibilities of Impossibility by John W. Patty and Elizabeth Maggie Penn

    May 04, 2015
    Jennifer Nou reviews "SOCIAL CHOICE AND LEGITIMACY: The Possibilities of Impossibility" by John W. Patty and Elizabeth Maggie Penn.
  • Gambling on the Climate

    By DAVID WEISBACH

    Review of CLIMATE CASINO: Risk, Uncertainty, and Economics for a Warming World, by William Nordhaus

    April 29, 2015
    David Weisback reviews CLIMATE CASINO: Risk, Uncertainty, and Economics for a Warming World", by William Nordhaus
  • How Cotton Became a ‘World Question’

    By KRZYSZTOF J. PELC

    Review of EMPIRE OF COTTON: A Global History, by Sven Beckert

    April 22, 2015
    Review of EMPIRE OF COTTON, by Sven Beckert
  • Is Capitalism Making Us Stupid?

    By ALEX TABARROK

    Review of ENLIGHTENMENT 2.0: Restoring Sanity to Our Politics, Our Economy, and Our Lives, by Joseph Heath

    April 15, 2015
    Alex Tabarrok reviews "Enlightenment 2.0: Restoring sanity to our politics, our economy, and our lives" by Joseph Heath